Service Learning in Malaysia

I had the great opportunity to travel to Malaysia with 10 other counseling students over winter break. We went on cultural experiences and the best part was that we were able to work with refugee children and teenagers. In Malaysia, refugee children are not able to go to the public schools. There are organizations that help these children and keep them off the street. We had the opportunity to serve at a children’s center in the morning and in a teen center in the afternoon. It was a great experience and I will remember the children forever! It is amazing how much you can learn from someone without speaking the same language. We taught the kids games, they taught us games it really was a meaningful experience.

When I reflect back on my trip and the kids I met, I am constantly grateful for the things I used to take for granted. I never once had to think twice about going to public school and this is something that these children are unable to have. I am very grateful to have this experience and I know I will be back in Malaysia someday soon!

Leave a comment